Some Google Sheets fun

For the past several weeks I’ve been writing about Google Docs and a little bit about Google Forms. For those of you who are familiar with Google Apps for Education (GAFE), you know that there are other apps in the suite that are amazing. Today I want to highlight a few functions I use in Google Sheets.

What is Google Sheets? It’s Google’s answer to Microsoft Excel, which is a spreadsheet that has a plethora of functionalities. While Excel is extremely powerful, it’s also very daunting, especially for the average use such as myself. Consequently, I prefer the sweet simplicity of Sheets, particularly since users can collaborate with it similar to the rest of the GAFE apps.

The three functions I’m going to cover are 1) splitting the data from one to two (or more) cells, 2) merging data in cells, and 3) sending out an email template to responders. Since these steps are a bit involved, I’ve uploaded short videos for each. Additionally, I outline how I use these functions, but obviously you can use it in a variety of ways. Once you’ve had a chance to play with it, you’ll dream up of ways this will save you time!

NOTE: in order to use these functions, you’ll need to use Google Chrome to get the proper add-ons.

Splitting cells

Merging cells

Email Merge

I want to add that part of the genius of this function is that you can send personalized emails to students.

Let’s say you created a Google Form for students to assess each other online. As long as you set up the Google Form correctly, you could use this email merge to send that feedback directly to the students!

As always, if you have any questions or want some one-on-one help, let me know!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *